TO THE ENDS OF THE EARTH: FOREVER AND A DAY

download

 

I will pick and probe, hustle and dig up, I will go to the ends of the earth, swim in the deepest oceans with the most dangerous sharks, I will climb the highest mountains and down the deepest valleys, I will do all this and at the end of the day be home to run you a warm bath, serve you warm milk and sweetest cookies with your best toddler tunes in the background.
I will bear the weight of a ten tonne target from a job I despise, I will wear my sweat with pride and wear the scars diligently, and years after, tell you how happy I was going to fend for you, how much joy I derived from seeing you enjoy your tutu dress, guitar lessons, princess parties and the occasional trip with your friends to an overpriced resort.
I will hide the pain, shield you from my misery because as much as times and situations change, with you in my life they always seem to change for the better. You are my happiness and I will shield you from my pain , because only you so easily make me see the beauty of life, the beauty of smelling flowers and chasing lady birds, only you make ABCs so simple and only you remind me that no matter the scars it is all worth it in the end.
I’ll carry you on my back, place you on my lap, sweep you off your feet, and forever carry you in my heart, for you my baby make every sweat, blood and tear worth your simple innocent smile.

Martina McBride- in my daughter’s eyes

One thought on “TO THE ENDS OF THE EARTH: FOREVER AND A DAY”

Leave a Reply

